APS Prizes and Awards Ceremony

Prizes and awards will be bestowed on several individuals for outstanding contributions to physics. Please join us in honoring these individuals.

View APS Honor Recipients

APS prizes & awards recognize outstanding achievements in research, education, and public service. These Society-level honors represent the highest recognition of the many and varied contributions to physics by members of the physics community and span all career stages.

Please join us in congratulating these outstanding scientists during this ceremony. The ceremony is hosted by:

Jonathan Bagger
Chief Executive Officer
American Physical Society

Frances Hellman
2022 APS President
University of California, Berkeley and
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Recognition of Recipients

2022 Robert E. Marshak Lectureship

Gabriel Landi, Instituto de Física da Universidade de São Paulo

Presentation of Honors

Dissertation Awards

2021 Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Biological Physics
Antonio Carlos Costa, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

2021 Dissertation Award in Statistical and Nonlinear Physics
Yuanzhao Zhang, Cornell University

2022 Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics
Alina Kononov, Sandia National Laboratories

2022 Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics
Yuan Cao, Harvard University


2021 LeRoy Apker Award
Caelan Brooks, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

2022 John H. Dillon Medal
Jian Qin, Stanford University

2022 Irwin Oppenheim Award
Michael Vennettilli, AMOLF

2022 Irwin Oppenheim Award
Amir Erez, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

2022 Irwin Oppenheim Award
Andrew Mugler, University of Pittsburgh

2021 Distinguished Lectureship Award on the Applications of Physics
Sufi Zafar, IBM TJ Watson Research Center

2022 Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research
Nikta Fakhri, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2022 Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction
Sean P. Robinson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2022 Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing
Liang Jiang, The University of Chicago

2022 Joseph F. Keithley Award For Advances in Measurement Science
H.J. (John) Mamin, IBM Research

2022 Joseph F. Keithley Award For Advances in Measurement Science
Daniel Rugar, IBM Research

2022 David Adler Lectureship Award in the Field of Materials Physics
Axel Hoffmann, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Prize Recipients

2022 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids
Manfred Fiebig, ETH Zurich

2022 Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics
Giulia Galli, University of Chicago; Argonne National Laboratory

2022 Polymer Physics Prize
Sanat K Kumar, Columbia University

2022 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics
Arthur G. Suits, University of Missouri

2022 George E. Pake Prize
Philip J. Wyatt, Wyatt Technology Corporation

2022 Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics
Patricia Fara, Clare College, Cambridge

2022 Lars Onsager Prize
Igor L Aleiner, Columbia University; Google Quantum AI

2022 Lars Onsager Prize
Boris Altshuler, Columbia University

2022 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
Daniel C. Ralph, Cornell University

2022 Leo P. Kadanoff Prize
Katepalli R. Sreenivasan, New York University

2022 Max Delbrück Prize in Biological Physics
Terence Tai-Li Hwa, University of California, San Diego

2022 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize
Gene Dresselhaus (1929-2021), Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2022 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize
Emmanuel I. Rashba, Harvard University

Recognition of 2020 and 2021 Recipients

We recognize several recipients who were affected by the cancellation of the in-person components of the 2020 and 2021 March Meetings.

Recognition of 2019, 2020, and 2021 APS Fellows

155 members were recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2021.

Closing Remarks