T5 Topological Superconductors


Registration Fee per Tutorial:

  • Meeting Attendee (Virtual or In-Person): $140
  • Students: $75
  • Non-meeting Attendee: $150

Who Should Attend?

Graduate students, post-docs, and other scientists interested in learning about the exciting new area of topological superconductors. Both theory and experimental participants are welcome. The tutorial talks will be very pedagogical, describing the theoretical foundations and recent experiments. Latest developments and open questions will also be discussed.

Tutorial Description

Topological superconductors have been a subject of intense research in recent years. Just like a sphere is topologically distinct from a torus, fully gapped topological superconductors are markedly distinct from ordinary superconductors, in the sense that they are not continuously deformable to topologically trivial states of matter, such as an atomic insulator. Gapless topological superconductors with protected nodal points or lines can also be realized. Symmetries, such as time-reversal and crystalline symmetries, also play a crucial role in topological protections. The hallmark of topological superconductors is the existence of topologically protected boundary modes such as Andreev bound states and Majorana fermion modes at edges and vortex cores. Due to their potential use for technical applications in quantum information and computations, topological superconductors and Majorana fermions have been studied intensively. Various candidate materials and experimental setups have been explored. This tutorial will provide an introduction to the fundamental concepts and the recent experimental status of topological superconductors.


  • Theory: Anisotropic/unconventional superconductors, classification of topological superconductors, nodal points and lines, topological invariants, Andreev bound states, role of symmetries, effects of disorder, Majorana fermions.
  • Experiment: Candidate materials, experimental signatures, current experimental status.


  • Shinsei Ryu, Princeton University


  • Roman Lutchyn, Microsoft Research, Station Q
  • Shinsei Ryu, Princeton University
  • Masatoshi Sato, Kyoto University
  • Andreas Schnyder, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research