skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Anna Krylov

Anna Krylov

University of Southern California

Recipient of the 2020 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics

For innovative work developing high accuracy electronic structure theory to inspire interpretation of spectroscopy of radicals, excited states, and ionization resonances in small molecules, biomolecules, and condensed phase solutes.

Invited Talk: Session A26.1

About the Recipient

Anna Krylov is the Gabilan Distinguished Professor in Science and Engineering and a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Southern California working in theoretical and computational quantum chemistry. Born in Donetsk, Ukraine, she received her M.Sc. from Moscow State University and her Ph.D. from Hebrew University?Jerusalem (1996) under the supervision of Prof. Benny Gerber. Following postdoctoral training with Prof. Martin Head-Gordon at University of California, Berkeley, she joined USC's chemistry department (1998). Krylov develops theoretical models of open-shell and electronically excited species, including metastable states. She develops robust black-box methods to describe complicated multi-configurational wave functions in single-reference formalisms, such as coupled-cluster and equation-of-motion approaches. She also develops tools for spectroscopy modeling including non-linear and high-energy regimes. Using computational chemistry, Krylov investigates the role of radicals and electronically excited species in combustion, solar energy, bioimaging, and quantum information science. Krylov has received the Dirac Medal (WATOC), the Theoretical Chemistry Award (ACS/PHYS), Bessel Research Award (Humboldt Found.), and Mildred Dresselhaus Award (DESY and Hamburg Univ.). She is a Fellow of the ACS, APS, and AAAS; an elected member of the Int'l Academy of Quantum Molecular Science; a Board Member of WATOC; and a 2018 Simons Foundation Fellow in Theoretical Physics.

About the Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics

The Plyler Prize recognizes notable contributions to the field of molecular spectroscopy and dynamics.

This prize was established in 1976 and is now sponsored by The Journal of Chemical Physics, an AIP Publishing journal.