skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Antoine Georges

Antoine Georges

Flatiron Institute Center for Computational Quantum Physics, College de France

Recipient of the 2020 Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics

For the development of the Dynamical Mean Field Theory as a tool for the computation of properties of strongly correlated materials.

Invited Talk: Session J09.1

About the Recipient

Antoine Georges is a Professor at Collège de France, Paris (chair of Condensed Matter Physics) and the Director of the newly founded Center for Computational Quantum Physics at the Flatiron Institute, Simons Foundation, New York. He also has affiliations with the Ecole Polytechnique (France) and the University of Geneva (Switzerland). He graduated from Ecole Polytechnique in 1984 and obtained his Ph.D. from École Normale Supérieure in 1988. His early research was in high-energy theory and the statistical mechanics of disordered systems. Since the early 90's, his main focus has been on the physics of quantum materials in which electron-electron interactions are strong, and more broadly defined the theory of interacting quantum systems including ultra-cold atoms. He is one of the co-inventors of Dynamical Mean-Field Theory, for which he shared the 2006 Europhysics Condensed Matter Prize. This theory has deeply transformed our understanding of these materials and our ability to explain, calculate and predict their physical properties. Antoine Georges also received the 1990 Suzanne et Anatole Abragam Prize, the 2004 Dargelos Prize, the 2007 Silver Medal of the CNRS, the 2014 Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics, a Honorary Doctorate from the University of Sherbrooke, Canada (2018) as well as a major Synergy Grant from the European Research Council (2012). He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences.

About the Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics

The Rahman Prize recognizes outstanding achievement in computational physics research.

This prize was established in 1992 with support through 2019 from IBM Corporation as a means of recognizing outstanding work and disseminating information in computational physics. The 2020 Prize was generously made possible by Aneesa Baker while efforts have been launched by APS along with DCOMP to endow this Prize to be given in perpetuity. Your contribution towards this endeavor is greatly appreciated and may be made here.