skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Chao-Yang Lu

Chao-Yang Lu

University of Science and Technology of China

Recipient of the 2021 Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing

For significant contributions to optical quantum information sciences, especially on solid-state quantum light sources, quantum teleportation and optical quantum computing.

Invited Talk: Session C10.10

About the Recipient

Chao-Yang Lu was born in 1982 in Zhejiang, China. He obtained a Bachelor's degree from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 2004, and PhD in Physics from the Cavendish Laboratory, the University of Cambridge in 2011. He is currently a Professor of Physics at USTC. His current research interest includes quantum computation, solid-state quantum photonics, multiparticle entanglement, quantum teleportation, and atomic arrays. His work on quantum teleportation was selected as by Physics World as "Breakthrough of the Year 2015". His work on single-photon sources and optical quantum computing was selected by the Optical Society of American (OSA) as one of "Optics in 2016", "Optics in 2017", and "Optics in 2019". He has been awarded as Fellow of Churchill College (2011), Hong Kong Qiu Shi Outstanding Young Scholars (2014), National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars (2015), Nature's top ten "science star of China" (2016), OSA Fellow (2017), Fresnel Prize from the European Physical Society (2017), AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize (2018), Huangkun Prize from Chinese Physical Society (2019), Nishina Asian Award (2019), Xplorer Prize (2019), IUPAP-ICO Young Scientist Prize in Optics (2019), and OSA Adolph Lomb Medal (2020). He is the Chair of Quantum 2020 and has served as an editorial board member in international journals such as Quantum Science and Technology, PhotoniX, Advanced Quantum Technology, Science Bulletin, and iScience.

About the Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing

The Landauer-Bennett Award recognizes recent outstanding contributions in quantum information science, especially using quantum effects to perform computational and information-management tasks that would be impossible or infeasible by purely classical means.

The award, established in 2015 by the APS Division on Quantum Information (formally known as the APS Topical Group on Quantum Information), and partially endowed by the International Business Machines Corporation, honors Landauer's and Bennett's pioneering work for foundational discoveries between information and physics. Rolf Landauer made many contributions to the understanding of the relationship between thermodynamics and information, the most well-known being Landauer's principle that states the minimal energy required to erase a bit is kT ln(2). Landauer was a fellow of the APS and a winner of the Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize. Charles Bennett is one of the founders of the field of quantum information and computation. Bennett is a fellow of the APS and his citation reads "for inventing reversible computation, for his analysis of Maxwell's demon, and for co-inventing quantum cryptography and quantum teleportation." Quantum teleportation is a key primitive in quantum computation and plays a significant role in current methods for quantum error correction and universal quantum computation. Bennett's work helped establish quantum information science as a coherent discipline, one that illuminates other areas of physics and has important practical applications.