skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Darrell G. Schlom

Darrell G. Schlom

Cornell University

Recipient of the 2021 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

For pioneering the atomic-layer-by-layer synthesis of new metastable complex-oxide materials, and the discovery of resulting novel phenomena.

Invited Talk: Session L35.3

About the Recipient

Darrell Schlom is the Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor of Industrial Chemistry in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell University. He also holds the honorary appointment of Leibniz Chair at the Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung. After receiving a B.S. degree from Caltech, he did graduate work at Stanford University receiving an M.S. in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering. He did postdoctoral research at IBM?s research lab in Zurich, Switzerland in the oxide superconductors and novel materials group before joining the faculty at Penn State in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, where he spent 16 years before moving to Cornell in 2008. His research involves the heteroepitaxial growth and characterization of oxide thin films by reactive molecular-beam epitaxy, especially utilizing a "materials-by-design" approach to discover materials with properties superior to any known. Schlom received a Humboldt Research Award, the MRS Medal from the Materials Research Society, and the Frank Prize from the International Organization for Crystal Growth. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the American Vacuum Society, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

About the James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

The McGroddy Prize recognizes outstanding achievement in the science and application of new materials.

The prize was established in 1997 and is endowed by IBM and the APS Division of Materials Physics.