skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Ilya Belopolski

Ilya Belopolski

Princeton University

Recipient of the 2021 Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Material Physics

For the discovery of the first 3D topological magnet and of several novel Weyl semi metals from ARPES experiments.

Invited Talk: Session V64.3

About the Recipient

Ilya received his B.A. in physics in 2012 from Columbia University, NY, USA, where he researched gravitational waves with Professor Szabolcs Márka and the LIGO collaboration. He obtained his Ph.D. in 2019 under the supervision of Professor M. Zahid Hasan at Princeton University, NJ, USA. In his dissertation, Ilya leveraged state-of-the-art angle-, time- and spin-resolved photoemission spectroscopy to achieve groundbreaking advances in the field of topological quantum matter, including topological insulators, topological magnets and Weyl semimetals. He theoretically co-predicted and observed the first emergent Weyl fermions in crystalline tantalum arsenide, TaAs [Xu*, Belopolski* et al. Science 349, 6248 (2015)], work for which he was awarded the Harold W. Dodds Honorific Fellowship and Kusaka Memorial Prize in Physics of Princeton University. He subsequently observed the first topological chiral semimetal in RhSi [Sanchez*, Belopolski* et al. Nature 567, 500 (2019)]. He further discovered the first three-dimensional magnetic topological phase in the room-temperature magnet Co2MnGa [Belopolski et al. Science 365, 1278 (2019)], providing a new bridge between quantum magnetism and Weyl electronic topology. Since 2020, Ilya has been a Special Postdoctoral Researcher with Professor Yoshinori Tokura at the Center for Emergent Matter Science of RIKEN, Saitama, Japan, where he is exploring exotic quantum phases arising from the interplay of superconductivity, magnetism and topology.

About the Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Material Physics

The Greene Dissertation Award recognizes doctoral thesis research of exceptional quality and importance in experimental condensed matter or experimental materials physics.

The award was established in 2013 to honor the scientific and administrative contributions of Richard L. Greene to experimental condensed matter and materials physics. The Richard L. Greene Award is supported by a gift from his family.