skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Lev P. Pitaevskii

Lev P. Pitaevskii

INO-CNR BEC Center, University of Trento; Kapitza Institute for Physical Problems, Russian Academy of Sciences

Recipient of the 2021 Lars Onsager Prize

For originating the Gross-Pitaevskii theory of non-uniform Bose-Einstein condensates and subsequent extensive contributions to the theory of quantum fluids, especially as applied to ultracold atomic gases.

Invited Talk: Session J08.4

About the Recipient

Lev P. Pitaevskii was born 01/18/1933 in Saratov, USSR. He graduated from the Saratov State University in 1955. Being a student he passed Landau "theor-minimum" exams and entered Ph.D. program in the Institute for Physical Problems Academy of Sciences of USSR, headed by P. Kapitza (IPP). He earned his Ph.D. there in 1958. He worked in IPP and obtained important results on superfluidity of liquid Helium, plasma theory, van der Waals forces and BEC. He was elected a Corresponding Member of the Academy of Sciences of USSR in 1976 and Full Member in 1990. After decay of the Soviet Union he worked in the TECNION (Israel) and in the University of Trento (Italy) mainly in collaboration with S. Stringari. He is a Honorary Doctor of the TECHNION and T&M University (USA). He was awarded A. von Humboldt, E. Feenberg, E. Fermi and L. Landau Awards.

About the Lars Onsager Prize

The Onsager Prize recognizes outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics including the quantum fluids.

The prize was endowed in 1993 by Drs. Russell and Marian Donnelly in memory of the unique spirit of Lars Onsager and his passion for analytical results.