skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Moty Heiblum

Moty Heiblum

Department of Condensed Matter Physics, Braun Center for Sub Micron Research, Weizmann Institute of Science

Recipient of the 2021 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize

For discoveries, enabled by ingenious experimental methods, of novel quantum electronic phenomena in mesoscopic and quantum Hall systems, including observation and interpretation of one-electron and two-electron interference, charge fractionalization, and quantized heat conductance in fractional Hall states.

Invited Talk: Session M49.1

About the Recipient

Moty Heiblum was formally trained in electrical engineering, receiving B.Sc. in Technion (Israel, 1973) and Ph.D. in UC Berkeley (USA, 1978), joining after it the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center (1978). Realizing the lack of high purity materials, he studied and employed MBE-growth of GaAs-based heterostructures. Developing a novel Hot-Electron Transistor, he employed it as an electron energy spectrometer, and observed first-ever ballistic transport of electrons in a solid. In 1990 he joined the Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel), to conceive and found the Braun Center for Submicron Research and the Department of Condensed Matter Physics. Heiblum's studies are concentrated in quantum behavior of electrons in high purity mesoscopic materials, and in particular in the quantum Hall effect (QHE) regime. Noted are: novel electronic interferometers — demonstrating one-electron and two-electron interference; which-path detectors — allowing to turn 'on and off' electrons — coherence; detection of fractional charges via sensitive shot noise measurements; and observation of quantized heat flow in the fractional abelian and non-abelian states in the QHE regime. Heiblum was awarded the IBM Outstanding Innovation Award (1986), the Rothschild Prize (2008), and the EMET prize (2013). He is a Member of the Israel Academy of Sciences, a fellow of the American Physical Society, and a life fellow of IEEE. Heiblum received three consecutive Advanced ERC Grants.

About the Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize

The Buckley Prize recognizes outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics.

The prize was endowed in 1952 by AT&T Bell Laboratories (now Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent) and is currently co-sponsored with the HTC-VIA Group as a means of recognizing outstanding scientific work. It is named in memory of Oliver E. Buckley, an influential president of Bell Labs.