skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Nadya Mason

Nadya Mason

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Recipient of the 2020 Edward A. Bouchet Award

For impactful experimental research on low-dimensional superconducting and topological materials and devices, and for the promotion of diversity and inclusiveness in the scientific workforce, enhancing opportunities for underrepresented groups through leadership, service, and mentoring.

Invited Talk: Session J35.2

About the Recipient

Nadya Mason is a professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She earned her PhD in physics from Stanford University and engaged in postdoctoral research as a Junior Fellow at Harvard University. A condensed matter experimentalist, Dr. Mason focuses on electron behavior in low-dimensional materials such as graphene, nano-structured superconductors, and topological systems. Her research is relevant to the fundamental physics of small systems and applications involving nanoscale electronic elements. In addition to maintaining a rigorous research program and teaching, Dr. Mason works to increase diversity in the physical sciences. Dr. Mason was named a 2008 Emerging Scholar by Diverse Issues in Higher Education magazine, was a recipient of the 2009 Denise Denton Emerging Leader Award, the 2012 Maria Goeppert Mayer Award of the American Physical Society (APS), and was named an APS Fellow in 2018. She is a former General Councilor of the APS and Chair of the APS Committee on Minorities, and currently serves as Director of the Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC).

About the Edward A. Bouchet Award

The Bouchet Award recognizes a distinguished minority physicist who has made significant contributions to physics research and the advancement of underrepresented minority scientists.

This award was established in 1994 by the APS Committee on Minorities in Physics, and supported for 18 years by the Research Corporation, a private foundation for the advancement of science and technology. Subsequently the Award was supported by a grant from the Alfred Sloan Foundation and is now endowed thanks to individual and institutional donations.