skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Rodney Priestley

Rodney Priestley

Princeton University

Recipient of the 2020 John H. Dillon Medal

For impactful experiments illuminating the glass transition, and for novel processes for the controlled formation of polymer thin films and structured nanocolloids.

Invited Talk: Session C01.1

About the Recipient

Rodney D. Priestley is the Vice Dean of Innovation at Princeton University. He is a Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering and the Associate Director of the Princeton Center for Complex Materials. He obtained his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Northwestern University in 2008 and BS in Chemical Engineering from Texas Tech University. He completed a NSF/Chateaubriand postdoctoral fellowship at Ecole Superieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielles de la Ville de Paris. His research interests include polymer glasses, nanoconfined polymer dynamics, polymer thin film and nanoparticle formation, MAPLE and responsive polymers. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Quadrant Award, ACS New Investigator Grant, 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Grant, NSF CAREER Award, AFOSR YIP, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientist and Engineers, Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship and Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, AICHE MSED Owens Corning Early Career Award; and was named to the Root 100 list of most influential African Americans and World Economic Forum Young Global Scientist.

About the John H. Dillon Medal

The Dillon Medal Award recognizes outstanding research accomplishments by early-career polymer physicists who have demonstrated exceptional research promise.

The medal was established in 1983 by The American Physical Society and the Division of Polymer Physics (DPOLY). Beginning in 1997, sponsorship of the medal was assumed by Elsevier, Oxford, UK., publishers of the journal, Polymer.