skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

APS Honor Recipients

Samson A. Jenekhe

Samson A. Jenekhe

University of Washington

Recipient of the 2021 Polymer Physics Prize

For pioneering and sustained outstanding contributions to the synthesis, photophysics, and structure-morphology-performance relationships in semiconducting polymers for electronic and photovoltaic applications.

Invited Talk: Session E01.3

About the Recipient

Samson A. Jenekhe is the Boeing-Martin Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Washington since 2000. He received his B.S. from the Michigan Technological University in 1977, and his M.A. in Philosophy in 1981 and Ph.D. in chemical engineering in 1985 from the University of Minnesota. Prior to his current positions, he was Principal Research Scientist, Honeywell Inc., during 1984-1987 and Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Rochester during 1988-2000. Jenekhe?s research interests include synthesis, photophysics, charge transport, electroluminescence, and photovoltaic properties of conjugated polymers, organic electronics, energy conversion and storage systems, and self-assembly and nanotechnology. He is the author of over 300 research publications, three edited books, and 28 patents. He is a member of the American Physical Society (APS), the American Institute for Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Chemical Society, and the Materials Research Society. Jenekhe has served on several editorial advisory boards of journals, including Macromolecules. He was awarded the Charles M. A. Stine Award for Excellence in Materials Science and Engineering from the AIChE in 2014 and was elected Member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences in 2013. Jenekhe is a Fellow of the APS, the AAAS, and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

About the Polymer Physics Prize

The Polymer Prize recognizes outstanding accomplishment and excellence of contributions in polymer physics research.

This prize was established in 1960 with The Dow Chemical Company now serving as chief supporter.